Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Health, Safety & Wellness Fair - October 26, 2023

The Healthy Workplace Committee and the Health and Safety department welcome you to take part in Ontario Tech University's annual Health, Safety and Wellness Fair to promote and support the health, safety, and well-being of those who study and work at our University. 

The Health, Safety and Wellness Fair will take place on October 26th, 11 am - 1 pm, UA Atrium. Please plan to stop by and visit the various booths and enter your name in a draw for a chance to win one of several prizes, including a FitBit Versa 2! 
Additional give-aways include: Tim Horton's gift card, Amazon gift card, and indoor plants!

Confirmed Vendors:

Therapeutic Paws of Canada (that's right, a furry friend will be visiting), TELUS Health (our Employee Assistance Program provider), SunLife (our Pension and Benefits provider), Grand & Toy, Campus Safety & Security, and Campus Library!  

New for this year - Pumpkin Extravaganza

 Are you up for some friendly, potentially spooky, competition?  Join Ontario Tech’s Pumpkin Extravaganza during October’s Healthy Workplace Month!

What is a Pumpkin Extravaganza?

Staff/Faculty work together to carve and/or decorate a pumpkin for your chance of being crowned Pumpkin Extravaganza winners!

How it works: 

  1. Form a group of participants with your colleagues.
  2. Have one colleague request a free pumpkin from the Wellness at Work team, by completing this eForm by Friday, October 6th.
  3. The Wellness at Work team will connect with you to arrange pick-up/delivery to your location the week of October 16th.
  4. Choose which category you’d like to enter: Carving or Decorating
  5. Work with your colleagues to create your pumpkin masterpiece
  6. Bring your pumpkin and pumpkin submission form to the UA Atrium on October 26th (no later than 11am), to be displayed at the Health, Safety & Wellness Fair on October 26th from 11-1pm.
  7. Pumpkins are yours to keep - please remove your pumpkin from the UA Atrium by 5pm


Pumpkins will be viewed during the Health Safety & Wellness Fair and then pictures shared with the Ontario Tech Community to vote on the best carved and best decorated pumpkin from each category. 

For more information:
Please email

Save the date