Skip to main content
COVID-19 information and screening Learn how we’re keeping our campus community safe, healthy and engaged during our gradual return to campus.
Note: The university’s mandatory vaccine directive is now in effect. Learn more about vaccine requirements.
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2021 Statutory holidays and university closures


New Year’s Day

Friday, January 1

Family Day

Monday, February 15

Good Friday

Friday, April 2

Victoria Day

Monday, May 24

Canada Day

Thursday, July 1

Civic Holiday

Monday, August 2

Labour Day

Monday, September 6


Monday, October 11

Declared Holiday

Friday, December 24

Christmas Day

Monday, December 27

Boxing Day

Tuesday, December 28

Declared Holiday

Wednesday, December 29

Declared Holiday

Thursday, December 30

New Year's Day

Friday, December 31

Holiday closure period: Friday, December 24, 2021 through Sunday, January 2, 2022, inclusive. Business resumes Monday, January 3, 2022